top of page
  • Writer's pictureIan Fan

Petaling Jaya SERIES

Updated: Apr 6, 2022

We’ll be covering a series on Petaling Jaya. Each episode will study each district, taman, and neighbourhood’s site, layout and structure.

Petaling Jaya (commonly called “PJ” by locals) is a major Malaysian city originally developed as a satellite township for Kuala Lumpur. It is located in the Petaling District of Selangor with an area of approximately 97.2 square kilometres. Petaling Jaya was granted city status on 20 June 2006.

Petaling Jaya is surrounded by the Malaysian capital, Kuala Lumpur to the east, Sungai Buloh to the north, Shah Alam, the capital of Selangor and Subang Jaya to the west and Bandar Kinrara to the south.

800px-Petaling_Jaya_City_Sections.svg copy

Petaling Jaya is divided into several sections. Some are subdivided into smaller neighbourhoods (kejiranan), for example SS5D. Some sections have their own names (SS1 or Kampung Tunku), while other sections are grouped together (SS3, SS4, SS5, SS6, and SS7 as part of Kelana Jaya). Besides that, Petaling Jaya also comprises the affluent township of Damansara. Note that SS is not the same as Seksyen but as the short acronym for Subang-Sungai Way instead.

There are Section (or Seksyen) 1 to 14, 16, 17, 17A, 18, 19-22, 51, 51A, and 52. Section 1 to 4 are locally referred to as Old Town. Section 5 is locally referred to as Bukit Gasing. Section 9 is locally referred to as Taman Jaya. Section 19 is locally referred to as Taman Gee Huat. Section 20 is locally referred to as Taman Paramount (or Paramount Garden). Section 21 is locally referred to as SEA Park. Section 51A is locally referred to as Asia Jaya. Section 52 is locally referred to as New Town.

Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 5.37.21 PM

There are SS1 to SS9, SS9A, SS10, SS11, SS20 to SS22, SS22A, and SS23 to SS26. SS1 is also known as Kampung Tunku. SS3 comprises of Taman Subang, Taman Universiti, and Seaport. SS4 to SS7 are group together as Kelana Jaya. SS8 to SS9A are grouped together as Sungei Way. SS11 is also known as Kelab Golf Negara Subang. SS20 is Damansara Kim. SS21 is Damansara Utama. SS22 and SS22A are Damansara Jaya. SS23 is Taman SEA. SS24 is Taman Megah. SS25 is Taman Mayang. SS26 is Taman Mayang Jaya. The SS12 until SS19 neighbourhoods are within Subang Jaya, under the jurisdiction of the Subang Jaya Municipal Council (MPSJ).

Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 5.37.32 PM

There are Petaling Jaya Utara (PJU): PJU1, PJU1A, PJU2 to PJU10. PJU1 comprises of Dataran Prima, Aman Suria, and Kampung Chempaka. PJU1A comprises of Ara Damansara. PJU2 is Taman Perindustrian Jaya. PJU3 comprises of Tropicana, Damansara Indah and Sunway Damansara. PJU4 is Kwasa Damansara. PJU5 is Kota Damansara. PJU6 is Bandar Utama (BU1 to BU12) and Kampung Sungai Kayu Ara. PJU7 is Mutiara Damansara. PJU8 is Damansara Perdana. PJU9 is Bandar Sri Damansara. PJU9 (Bandar Sri Damansara) is the only section or township in Petaling Jaya using the same postcode of Kuala Lumpur – 60000. PJU10 is Damansara Damai.

Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 5.37.58 PM

There are Petaling Jaya Selatan (PJS): PJS1 to PJS6, PJS7, PJS8, and PJS10. PJS1 is Petaling Utama. PJS2 are Kampung Medan and Taman Dato’ Harun. PJS3 are Taman Medan and Taman Sri Manja. PJS4 is Taman Medan. PJS5 is Taman Desaria. PJS6 is Kampung Lindungan. PJS7 is the Eastern part of Bandar Sunway. Only a small portion of PJS7 is under the jurisdiction of the Petaling Jaya Municipal Council (MBPJ). The remaining part of PJS7 together with PJS9 and PJS11 (Southern part of the Bandar Sunway township) are within Subang Jaya, under the jurisdiction of the MPSJ. PJS8 is the Bandar Sunway. PJS10 is the Northern part of Bandar Sunway.

Screenshot 2020-05-26 at 5.38.05 PM

These sections names are used in the addressing format for locations in Petaling Jaya.

No. 15, Jalan SS20/6, SS20, 47300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor.

This system would point to house number xx, 5th street, SS3, Petaling Jaya. This would remove the need to have an additional address line for the housing estate name (in this example, Taman Subang) like most addresses used for the rest of the country.

The city sections are numbered as such that the older sections have no prefixes to their section number (Section 1, Section 9) while later sections have prefixes such as SS (Sungei Way-Subang), PJS (Petaling Jaya Selatan) and PJU (Petaling Jaya Utara).

28 views0 comments


bottom of page